日全球佛学网络合作伙伴为硕士和博士生提供部分和全部奖学金。这些奖学金的获得者将有机会参加由SSHRC新近发起并由陈金华领导的多年国际和跨学科项目(题为:造端倡始、拔地入云:佛教和东亚宗教,2016年–2023)。奖学金提供参与东亚研究访问的机会,并与国际学者和学生互动,以发展与当地合作伙伴和国际同行合作的技能。收件人还可以接受有关如何识别,记录,拍摄和转录主要原始资料的培训。学生将学习在多元文化,国际和跨学科环境中工作。

 

汉堡大学

高昱

 

博士奖学金 2019–2021 高昱在法学本科毕业后,先后于 2015年从华东师范大学取得人类学 硕士,2017年从香港中文大学取得中 国研究专业的哲学硕士学位。从2012 年至2015年,她主要研究杭州一座 佛寺中国家、寺院与信徒的相互关 系。 2015年至2017年,她用历史人类 学的方法研究中华帝国晚期地方社会 的民间宗教。在汉堡大学亚非学院的 博士研究项目延续了她对中国宗教的 兴趣,它通过历史学和人类学的方法 研究佛光山在中国大陆的分院。 2021 年,她在扬州大觉寺进行田野调查。她住在寺院中,与寺院中的九十人共 同劳作以了解他们的日常生活。
刘晨

博士奖学金2021 刘晨是汉堡大学汉学系博士研究生, 毕业于天津商业大学硕士和河北大学 学士。其研究领域包括敦煌与黑水城 写本研究,佛经语言与文化,和梵汉 佛经文献对勘佛教礼忏仪轨。目前, 她的论文将利用语文学的技术方法, 探索菩萨戒与宋僧智坚的西行求法之旅。

 

英属哥伦比亚大学

孙明利 博士奖学金 2021–2022 孙明利,加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学博 士生,从事佛教物质文化研究,主要 研究领域为四川唐五代摩崖浮雕西方 净土图像,并关注多媒介与跨学科的 佛教研究。已发表多篇研究论文,主 要成果包括:《巴蜀地区唐、五代观 无量寿经变摩崖石刻分析》(《石窟 艺术研究》2016年)、《四川唐、五 代观无量寿经变光明转与宝船因素分 析》(《故宫博物院院刊》2017年)、 《大足石刻观无量寿经变分析》(《 大足石刻全集》2018年)、《四川唐 五代西方净土经变之宝鸟图像分析》 (《普陀学刊》2020年)、以及《阿弥 陀佛五十菩萨像文献疏证》(《大足 学刊》2020年)等

 

 加州大学柏克莱分校

慕斯豪

 

硕士奖学金 2019–2021 慕斯豪于2021年在加州大学伯克利 分校获取了亚洲研究的硕士学位。在 硕士的两年期间,他学习了梵语和日 语,并完成了一系列关于中国中世纪 佛教思想史的研究项目。他的研究课 题包括4世纪的中观思想家僧肇,6世 纪的地论论师净影慧远,和6世纪的 中观论师吉藏。他的硕士论文“佛性 即中道——吉藏对佛性的中观解读” 分析了吉藏根据“大般涅槃经”对佛 性教义的理解,以及他从中观的角度 对当时关于佛性的一些教理争议做出 的回应。
谢卓伦

硕士奖学金 2019–2021 谢卓伦系普林斯顿大学艺术与考古学 系在读博士生。其近期研究兴趣主要 是十至十七世纪佛道题材绘画的消费 和流通。其他研究兴趣包括敦煌佛教 艺术和物质文化等。她先后于波士 顿学院艺术史专业和加州大学伯克利 分校亚洲研究项目获得学士和硕士 学位。在本项目奖学金的资助下完 成了题为Rethinking Soushan tu: The Painting of the Search in the Mountains from the Collection of the Berkeley Art Museum and Beyond的硕士毕业论 文。
Max Brandstadt

 

博士奖学金 2018–2019, 2021 Max Brandstadt是哈佛学者会的青年 学者。他致力于隋唐佛教,尤其是三 阶教运动,以及宗教和政治权威之间 关系的研究。

 

牛津大学

 

李青鸟

 

博士奖学金 2019–2022 李青鸟的博士研究课题为《礼敬七 佛:印度佛教中的七佛信仰与巴利语 《大本经》的历史传承及其梵汉语平 行文本的比对研究》。这项课题的核心是用语文学的方法来 比对研究巴利语《大本经》与来自中 亚的梵文《大本经》写本,以及它们 在汉译《阿含经》中的平行文本之 间的相异之处。由于研究涉及 MAP/ MAV 的多种版本,因此对所有可利 用文本进行细节化比较语文学研究将 有助于揭示关于七佛的文本传统的历 史发展脉络以及文本之间的互文性。在比较不同平行文本的同时,李青鸟 将对梵文《大本经》的写本进行彻底 的研究,并着重分析它的与众不同之 处。她还计画将巴利语《大本经》 、梵文《大本经》 以及汉译《大本 经》翻译为英文。此外,这项研究也 将触及印度、东南亚和东亚佛教地区 有关七佛信仰的考古发现。
 

黄国俊(润秀法师)

 

博士奖学金 2019–2022, 旭日-左冠明 奖学金2021–2022 润秀法师是旭日-左冠明奖学金的首 位得主。该奖学金旨在纪念故左冠明 博士。他是一位广受尊敬的学者,也 是自2017年旭日网络创立以来的参与 者,直到其于2020年离世。他的博士论文题目为《早期〈波若 经〉评注传统:〈大智度论〉注释 特点之研究》。这一研究将《大智 度论》视为《大般若经》的评着, 并关注于其评注特点和方法,同时 运用宏观(目标为描绘《大智度 论》这一注解项目的整体图景)和微观两种路径(目标为基于三个案 例,分析这一项目的具体细节)。这一研究亦将《大智度论》定位在 更广大的印度大乘经典评注传统之 中。其教育背景完全专注于佛教研究: 于泰国摩诃朱拉隆功大学获得学 士学位,于香港大学和伦敦大学亚 非学院获得佛教研究硕士学位,于 牛津大学获得佛教研究哲学硕士学 位。
Jacob Fisher

 

博士奖学金 2021–2022 Jacob Fisher于2021年10月开始其 博士研究。他暂定的论文题目是《 甘露、水,还是血?印度-西藏视 角中的跨地域认知,以及传统和极 量》。在入读牛津之前,Jacob在义 大利宗喀巴喇嘛学院完成了经典与 怛特罗佛教硕士项目。该项目传统 上源于西藏善知识学位修习项目, 为期七年。在完成这一项目之后, 他在法国那烂陀修院为僧侣教授课 程,为期五年。在其教职的最后一 年,他于牛津大学完成了一年制硕 士学位,以荣誉学位毕业,并获得 益西康卓最佳藏传佛教研究论文 奖。 Jacob的博士研究着眼于印度和 西藏佛教认识论。他的研究特别关 注印度论藏文本及其西藏评注如何 解决相对主义问题,以及在虚幻世 界语境中的有效世俗知识。研究以 一个自南亚辩证传统中发现的经典 示例为中心:一条河以及饿鬼、动 物、人类及神观察这条河的截然不 同的方式。他希望这一研究能进一 步帮助我们理解佛教如何解决哲学 中心问题相对论,包括其本体论和 认识论的维度

 

普林斯顿大学

Echo Weng

硕士奖学金 2020–2022 Echo于2020年加入本项目的亚洲宗教 子领域。她的研究兴趣以中国中世佛 教中的残疾、身体、医疗和康复为中 心。她对佛教图像的戒谕特点,以及 在梦境中图像与修行者之间的互动抱 有浓厚兴趣。她也对宗教和科幻作品 之间的对话具有兴趣。在就读普林斯 顿之前,Echo于乔治城大学获得比较 文学学士学位,于哥伦比亚大学获得 东亚语言与文化硕士学位。

耶路撒冷希伯来大学

谈颖娴 博士奖学金 2021–2022 谈颖娴目前是一名耶路撒冷希伯 来大学(HUJI)亚洲研究系的在 读博士生。她的第一篇硕士论文 (HKU,2016)讨论被称为中国合和 禅与日本纯禅之间的教义差异。她的 第二篇硕士论文(HUJI,2019)重新 评估了北周灭佛背后的经济原因。她 现在研究六世纪末七世纪初的中国政 权与佛教的关系。她的博士论文从双 重角度探索这个主题:一方面是世俗 政权对佛教的宗教政策,另一方面是 佛教的回应。通过参与2019年和2020 年与拔地入云的学习项目以及撰写旭 日2021年“从祇洹林到耶路撒冷”研 讨会纪要,她拓宽了研究视野。 2021 年12月中旬,她举办了在以色列希伯 来大学的首次当代中国佛教摄影展。她的影展命名为“古寺山僧”,将特 别展出作为历史遗迹的国家大寺与散 落于乡村的小寺庙,从二者的共存来 展现中国佛教的多样性。请参阅第45 页影展摘要。请参阅附录W和X“从 祇洹林到耶路撒冷”报告。

The Glorisun Network partners offer partial and full fellowships for Masters and Ph.D. students. Recipients of these fellowships will have the opportunity to participate in a multi-year international and interdisciplinary project, sponsored by SSHRC and led by Jinhua Chen (titled: From the Ground Up: East Asian Religions through Multi-Media Sources and Interdisciplinary Perspectives, 2016–2023). The fellowships offer opportunities to participate in research visits to East Asia, and to interact with international scholars and students to develop skills in working with local partners and international peers. Recipients may also receive training on how to identify, document, photograph and transcribe primary source materials. Students will learn to work in diverse multicultural, international, and interdisciplinary environments.

Hamburg University

Yu Gao

 

Ph.D. Fellowship 2019-2021 With a B.A. in Law, Yu Gao has been trained both in Anthropology at East China Normal University (M.A. 2015), and Chinese Studies at Chinese University of Hong Kong (M.Phil 2017). From 2012 to 2015, she explored the interrelations among the state, the temple, and the followers in a Buddhist temple in Hangzhou. From 2015 to 2017, she focused on popular religions in local society in late imperial China with historical anthropology approach. She continued to explore her interest in Chinese religions with her Ph.D. project, studying the China branch of transnational Buddhist monastery Foguangshan with the historical and anthropological approaches under the affiliation of Asia-Africa institute at Hamburg University. In 2021, she conducted fieldwork in Yangzhou and at the Dajue temple where she lived and worked with 90 other people in order to know their daily lives in the temple.
Liu Chen

Ph.D. Fellowship 2021 Liu Chen is a Ph.D. candidate in Sinology at the University of Hamburg. She obtained her M.A. from Tianjin University of Commerce and her B.A. from Hebei University. Her research area includes the study of Dunhuang and Heishuicheng manuscripts, the language and culture of Buddhist scriptures, Buddhist rituals and rituals in Sanskrit and Chinese Buddhist scriptures. Currently, her Ph. D dissertation uses textual and literary techniques to look into Bodhisattva Ring and the Song monk Zhijian’s Westward Journey.

 

University of British Columbia

Mylinda SUN Ph.D. Fellowship 2021-2022 Mingli Sun is a Ph.D. student at The University of British Columbia. Her research area is Buddhist material culture in Medieval China with a focus on the Western Pure Land images in Sichuan from the Tang and Five Dynasties, on which topic she has a dozen of publications as journal articles and book chapters. The major ones include (1) ‘An Analysis of the transformation tableaux of the Sutra of Visualizing Amitayus Buddha as Carved on the Cliffs in Sichuan Area from the Tang and Five Dynasties’ (from the Study on the Grotto Arts 石窟藝術研究, 2016); (2) ‘An Analysis on Factors of Light Circles and Treasure Ships of Transformation Tableaux of the Sutra of Visualizing Amitayus Buddha in Sichuan Area from the Tang and Five Dynasties’ (Palace Museum Journal 故宮博物院院刊, 2017); (3) ‘An Analysis of the transformation tableaux of the Sutra of Visualizing Amitayus Buddha of Stone-carved in Dazu’ (A Full Collection of the Stone Carvings in Dazu 大足石刻全集, 2018); (4) ‘An Analysis of the images of treasure birds in the transformation tableaux of the Western Pure Land Sutras in Sichuan from the Tang and Five Dynasties’ (Journal of Putuo Studies 普陀學刊, 2020); and (5) ‘A Textual Examination on the Image of Amitābha with Fifty Bodhisattvas’ (Journal of Dazu Studies 大足學刊, 2020).

 

University of California, Berkeley

Howard Mu

 

Masters Fellowship 2019-2021 Howard Mu completed his M.A. in the Group in Asian Studies at University of California, Berkeley in 2021. During the two years of his M.A. program, he studied Sanskrit and Japanese, and completed several research projects on medieval Chinese Buddhist intellectual history. His research topics included the 4th-century Madhyamaka thinker Sengzhao, the 6th-century Dilun commentator Jingying Huiyuan, and the 6th-century Madhyamaka commentator Jizang. His M.A. thesis, titled “Buddha Nature as the Middle Way—Jizang’s Madhyamaka Interpretation of Buddha Nature,” analyzed Jizang’s understanding of the doctrine of Buddha Nature based on the Nirvāṇa Sūtra as well as his response to various doctrinal controversies on Buddha Nature in his time from a Madhyamaka standpoint
Zhoulun Xie

Masters Fellowship 2019-2021 With the generous support of the funding, Zhuolun Xie completed an M.A. thesis entitled Rethinking Soushan tu: The Painting of the Search in the Mountains from the Collection of the Berkeley Art Museum and Beyond during her time at Berkeley. In 2021, Zhoulun became a Ph.D. student studying premodern Chinese art in the Department of Art and Archaeology at Princeton University. Her recent research interests include paintings of religious themes from the tenth to the seventeenth centuries, especially their consumption and circulation. She also has an interest in Buddhist visual and material culture in Dunhuang. Zhuolun received her M.A. in Asian Studies from UC Berkeley and her B.A. in Art History from Boston College.
Max Brandstadt

 

Ph.D. Fellowship 2018-2019, 2021 Max Brandstadt is a Junior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows. He works on the history of Sui and Tang Buddhism, particularly the Three Levels Movement, as well as the relationship between religious and political forms of authority.

 

University of Oxford

 

Qingniao Li

 

Ph.D. Fellowship 2019-2022 The title of her research project is “Sattabuddhānāṃ Pūjārtham: The Worship of the Seven Buddhas and the Historical Transmission of the Pāli Mahāpadāna-sutta and its Textual Parallels in Sanskrit and Chinese”. The heart of this research will be a philological and comparative study between the Pāli Mahāvadāna-sutta, the Sanskrit Mahāvadāna-sūtra manuscripts from Central Asia, and the textual parallels of this MAP/MAV family preserved in the Chinese Āgamas. As her research deals with various recensions of the MAP/MAV, a close comparative philological study of all the available textual sources will help to uncover the historical transmission of this sutta/sūtra family. While comparing different textual parallel, she will undertake a thorough investigation of the MAV manuscripts and analyse their distinctive features. In addition, she also works on the English translations of MAP and MAV, and their textual parallel in the Chinese Dīrgha-āgama. Furthermore, this research will take into account the archaeological findings concerning the Seven Buddhas in India, Southeast and East Asian Buddhist areas.
 

HUỲNH Quốc Tuấn (Ven. Thick Nhuan Tu)

 

Ph.D. Fellowship 2019-2022, Glorisun-Zacchetti Fellowship recipient for 2021-2022 Ven. Tuan is the first recipient of the Glorisun-Zacchetti Fellowhip, which honours the late Dr. Stefano Zachetti who was a well-respected scholar and part of the Glorisun network since its inception in 2017 until Dr. Zachetti’s untimely death in 2020. Venerable Tuan is in his second year of his doctorate, with working title “An Early Prajñāpāramitā Commentarial Tradition: A Study of the exegetical features of the Da zhidu lun (*Mahāprajñāpāramitopadeśa).” This study approaches the Da zhidu lun as a commentary on the Larger Prajñāpāramitā with a focus on its commentarial features and methods.It adopts both a macroscopic approach (which aims at sketching an overall picture of the interpretive program of the Da zhidu lun) and a microscopic approach (which aims at analysing in detail this program based on the three case studies). This study also intends to situate the Da zhidu lun in a larger picture of the Indian Mahāyāna exegetical tradition. His educational background has solely been focused on Buddhist Studies: B.A. in Buddhist Studies (MCU, Thailand), Master of Buddhist Studies (HKU, Hong Kong), M.A. in Buddhist Studies (SOAS, London), and M.Phil. in Buddhist Studies (Oxford).
Jacob Fisher

 

Ph.D. Fellowship 2021-2022 Jacob Fisher started his doctoral research in October 2021. His tentative thesis title is “Nectar, water, or blood? Indo-Tibetan perspectives on perception across realms, and conventional and ultimate pramāṇas”. Before coming to Oxford, Jacob completed the Master’s Programme in Buddhist Studies of Sutra and Tantra, a seven year traditionally orientated study programme based on the Tibetan Geshe degree, at Instituto Lama Tsongkhapa Italy. After completing the program, he spent another five years teaching it to the monks at Nalanda Monastery France, upon the request of Lama Zopa Rinpoche. At the conclusion of that period, he completed a one-year Master’s degree at the University of Oxford, graduating with a distinction and winning the Yeshe Khandro Prize for the best thesis in the study of Tibetan Buddhism. Jacob’s doctoral research focusses on Indian and Tibetan Buddhist epistemology. His research specifically focuses on how Indian śāstra literature and their Tibetan commentaries resolve the question of relativism and valid conventional knowledge within the context of an illusory world. The study revolves around a classical example found across south Asian dialectical traditions: that of a river and the vastly distinct perception of it by hungry ghosts, animals, humans, and gods. He hopes this research will shed new light on Buddhist solutions to the central philosophical question of relativism, in both its ontological and epistemological dimensions

 

Princeton University

Echo Weng

MA Fellowship 2020-2022 Echo joined the program in the Asian Religions subfield in 2020. Her research interests center on disability, body, medicine, and healing in medieval Chinese Buddhism. She is particularly interested in the disciplinary nature of Buddhist images and the interactions between images and practitioners in the realm of dream. She is also interested in the dialogue between religion and science fiction. Prior to coming to Princeton, Echo received her B.A. in Comparative Literature at Georgetown University and her M.A. in East Asian Languages and Cultures at Columbia University.

Hebrew University of Jerusalem

 

Tan Yingxian Ph.D. Fellowship 2021-2022 Tan Yingxian is currently a Ph.D. student in the department of Asian Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem (HUJI). Her first M.A. thesis (HKU, 2016) focuses on the doctrinal differences between what is known as Chinese syncretic Chan and Japanese pure Zen. Her second M.A. thesis (HUJI, 2019) reappraises the economic rationale behind Northern Zhou’s persecution of Buddhism. Now she is working on the State-Saṃgha relation in late sixth and early seventh century China. Her Ph.D. dissertation deals with this subject from a double perspective: that of the state’s religious policy on the one hand and that of the Buddhist response on the other. Her participation in Frogbear/Glorisun programs in both 2019 and 2020 enabled her to broaden the perspective of her research, as did her role as the reporter on the Glorisun’s 2021 “From Jetavana to Jerusalem” conference. In mid-December of 2021 she held a photograph exhibition on Buddhism in modern China for the first time at HUJI, with special focus on monumental monasteries versus village hermitages. See her exhibition description on page 45. See her “ From Jetavana to Jerusalem” conference report in appendix W and X.