研讨会系列

2018.8 剑桥大学

东亚及东亚地区佛教写本的书写与保存” [<—- 请点击这里了解详细信息]


2018.4 英属哥伦比亚大学

佛教动物:亚洲宗教及文化中的动物意象反思   [<—- 请点击这里了解详细信息]

 

Buddhist Beasts: Reflections on Animals in Asian Religions and Culture


2017.12 牛津大学

“大乘和戒律:研读《梵网经》和《宝梁聚经》(Ratnarāśisūtra)”

与伦敦大学合作,牛津大学成功举办了题为“大乘和戒律:研读《梵网经》和《宝梁聚经》(Ratnarāśisūtra)”的工作坊, 由船山彻教授(京都大学)和施尔克(莱顿大学)共同主持。支持该工作坊的资金部分来自旭日基金会。

请点击这里了解详细信息。


2017.12 北京大学

一宇而多途:國際華嚴學最前沿.

 

北京大学佛教典籍与艺术中心和北京大学哲学系合办了第三届世界华严学大会。

请点击这里了解详细信息。


2017.10 耶鲁大学

来自北美地区高校的30名研究生参加了由那体慧(Jan Nattier)教授指导的早期中国佛教翻译密集型工作坊。

研讨会的具体主题是对佛陀养母摩诃波闍波提最後涅盘(即死亡)的故事的两个特殊的中文版本的研究,分别爲《大麻道般泥洹经》(T144)和《佛母般泥洹经》(T145)。首先,我们思索如何在已知的传统中评估翻译者归属的问题。在确定了这些文本可能的日期及其出处之後,我们开始閲读文本,并讨论如何处理未在现有词典中注明的佛教名称和术语。然後,我们比较这两个中文版本与中文丶藏语丶巴利语等现存故事的其他版本,尝试将我们所閲读的文本放在当时的历史环境中去解读。

请点击这里了解详细信息。


2017.9 剑桥大学

从竹简到佛教卷轴的中国写本:形式与实践,延续与创新。

本活动于9月16日至9月17日在李约瑟研究所举行,有20名学者参与,另有相同数目的未发表的参与者与会。除了作爲主要赞助者的旭日国际网络之外,我们还得到了亚洲和中东研究学院以及罗宾逊学院的大力支持。这次会议十分成功,实属一次有价值活动。

2017.4 耶鲁大学

佛教哲学国际研讨会(与会学者来自美国丶欧洲和日本)


2017.1 普林斯顿大学

佛教写本文化国际研讨会

在爲期三天的会程中,共有十一篇论文和一篇关於梵语丶藏语丶西夏语丶和阗文丶中文以及日文的佛教写本的主题演讲。共计135名学者丶学生与会,其中包括40名由旭日国际网络资助支付旅费的博士研究生。

请点击这里了解详细信息。

Conference Series

August 2018, Cambridge
“Production and Preservation of Buddhist Manuscripts in Central and East Asia”

An International and Intensive Program on Buddhism at Cambridge: Conference


April 2018, UBC
“Buddhist Beast: Reflections on Animals in Asian Religions and Culture”

Buddhist Beasts: Reflections on Animals in Asian Religions and Culture


December 2017, Oxford University
“Mahāyāna and the Precepts: Readings from the Fanwan jing 梵網經 and the Baoliangju jing 寶梁聚經 (Ratnarāśisūtra)”

Together with SOAS (University of London), a workshop on the topic “Mahāyāna and the Precepts: Readings from the Fanwan jing 梵網經 and the Baoliangju jing 寶梁聚經 (Ratnarāśisūtra)” , led by Prof. Funayama Toru (Kyoto University) and Jonathan A. Silk (Leiden University). This workshop were partially supported by the Glorisun Fund.
To learn more, click here.


November 2017, Peking University
“New Frontiers of Huayan Studies: One Asia, Multiple Paths” 一宇而多途:國際華嚴學最前沿.


The Research Center for Buddhist Texts and Arts at Peking University 北京大學佛教典籍與藝術中心 and the Department of Philosophy 北京大學哲學系 organized the meeting IIIrd International Conference of Huayan Studies 第三屆世界華嚴學大會, 
To learn more, click here.


October 2017,  Yale University
“Intensive workshop on Early Chinese Buddhist translations, led by Professor Jan Nattier, attended by 30 graduate students from North American institutions.

The specific topic of the workshop will be two unusual Chinese versions of the story of the final nirvana (i.e., the death) of the Buddha’s foster mother, Mahāprajāpatī:  大愛道般泥洹經 (T144) and 佛母般泥洹經(T145).  We will consider, first of all, how to evaluate the translator attributions given in the received tradition.  Having established the probable dates and attributions of these texts, we will begin to read through them, discussing what to do with Buddhist names and terms that are not registered in existing dictionaries.  We will then compare these two Chinese versions with other versions of the story extant in Chinese, Tibetan, and Pāli, in an attempt to place the texts we have read within their historical context.

To learn more, click here.


September 2017, Cambridge
“Chinese Manuscripts from Bamboo Slips to Buddhist Scrolls: Forms and Practices, Continuities and Innovations”

The event was held on September 16-17 at the Needham Research Institute and was attended by 20 scholars, plus about the same number of non-presenting participants. In addition to Glorisun, which was the main sponsor, we also had support from the Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Robinson College. The conference was highly successful and was by all accounts a worthwhile event.


April 2017, Yale University
“International Workshop on Buddhist Philosophy (attended by scholars from American, Europe, and Japan)”

January 2017, Princeton University
“International Conference on Buddhist Manuscript Cultures.”

3-day conference with 11 papers and 1 keynote address on Buddhist manuscripts from Sanskrit, Tibetan, Tangut, Khotanese, Chinese, and Japanese.  Attendance: 135, including 40 Ph.D. students whose travel was supported by Glorisun funding. Conference website, including program:
To learn more, click here.